America listen up! A mix between Swedish and American cinnamon buns

Cinnamon buns/rolls are very popular in SWEDEN and in THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA!!! Therefore, I wanted to combine a Swedish Cinnamon bun recipe with an American Vanilla Frosting recipe which you cover the cinnamon buns with. Mmmmm…. YUM, YUM, YUM!!! 😀

In Chicago you can find the Swedish American Museum. Isn’t it so cool that we have something in common??!! Lots of Swedish people (about 1.3 millions) immigrated to America in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.  Maybe YOU are my unknown relative?!! Who knows?!! 😀 Hahaha! If you are interested of the museum, please don’t hesitate to visit their website: http://www.swedishamericanmuseum.org/childrensmuseum/about.php It is definitely worth a visit!

(The picture of the Viking boat is borrowed from Swedish American Museum’s website)

Are you ALL ready for the Swedish/American Cinnamon bun recipe?!! Here it comes!! Swiiiiischhhh… 😀

Recipe (makes enough for a small cinnamon party)

I made 3 doughs of wheat bread

  • 150 gr butter, at room temperature         (x3)
  • 5 dl whole milk                                                 (x3)
  • 50 gr yeast for sweet doughs                        (x3)
  • 1 dl caster sugar                                               (x3)
  • ½ teaspoon salt                                                (x3)
  • 2 teaspoons ground cardamom                 (x3)
  • 850 gr (approximately 14 dl) plain flour (x3)

Filling

  • 850 gr butter
  • 12 tablespoons cinnamon
  • 6 dl caster sugar

Topping

A:

  • 4 eggs
  • pearl sugar

B:

(Vanilla Frosting)

  • 4 cups icing/confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla extract 
  • 6 tablespoons milk

Recipe for each dough: 

Heat the milk to 37 deg C (99 degrees F)

Crumble the yeast in a 3-4 litre bowl. Pour in the milk and stir then add the butter in pieces, sugar, salt and cardamom.

Measure the flour. Pour the flour right out of the bag into a measuring cup. Do not shake the measure.

Add the flour, but save ½ dl of the flour (for rolling).

Knead the dough vigorously, about 5 minutes with a mixer or 10 minutes by hand until it feels smooth.

Let the dough rise covered with a tea towel for about 30 minutes.

Work the dough with the mixer or knead gently on floured surface.

Roll out the dough about 4 mm thick and 50 cm wide, length is determined by the amount of dough you are working with. (I made the buns in different sizes).

Filling: 

Mix butter, cinnamon and sugar so it’s just incorporated.

Cinnamon buns: 

Put the filling on 3/4 of the dough and fold over each dough side over the middle one and then sweep off excess flour (some may be needed to avoid sticking).

Roll it out one more time.

Cut the strips about 10 mm wide and twist a knot and make it tight.

Place the buns on plates covered with parchment paper and again let them rise covered with a tea towel for about 40 minutes.

Preheat oven to 225-250 degrees C (437-482 degrees F). Brush the buns with the egg then sprinkle the pearl sugar  on top and then bake in the middle of the oven for 5-10 minutes.

Vanilla Frosting: 

In a medium bowl, place sugar, butter and vanilla. Then stir in enough milk to reach a thick, hardly-able to stir consistency.

Spread over warm buns/rolls as soon as they are placed on a plate to let the frosting melt and run into the buns/rolls.

Take a plate! It’s CINNAMON PARTY!! Woohoo!! 😀

Yes please!!! 😀  I LOVE Cinnamon buns 😛

Happy Cinnamon bun Baking! 😀

6 thoughts on “America listen up! A mix between Swedish and American cinnamon buns

  1. First of all, I might have to check out that museum the next time we are in Chicago. We usually get there once a year! My family is Norwegian but I love all Scandinavian countries!! Second of all, I saw your blog this morning and was about to comment but I had to go help Cesar with something and then we had to run to the grocery store. I kept thinking about these cinnamon rolls and I actually bought YEAST at the grocery store. I’ve tried doing things with yeast before and never had any luck but I’m going to try again after seeing how good these looked!!! Thanks for putting the frosting recipe in American measurements! I’m going to convert your bun recipe!!! Thanks!!!

    • Very cool!! Norway is a beautiful country. Thanks for liking Sweden too, hahaha. My grandpa’s grandma was ½ Norweigan.
      Hahah, yay!! Just let the dough rise in a warm place and then it will just be fine. Try to knead the dough a lot before you allow it to rest. No worries!!! I think I have some sort of measurement conversion in my blog. Let me know how your baking went!!! Yeah, and about the museum! I think it’s a great idea to visit it, if you like history and it’s also a great place for kids to learn more about their country!

  2. I just had to let you know….I made the cinnamon buns yesterday!! They turned out pretty great!!! Thanks for inspiring me to make them!! I’m bringing them to my friend’s house for brunch this morning!

    • You are more than welcome and I KNEW you could make it; especially after I have seen your yummy birthday cakes you’ve baked for your children!!! Thanks for letting me know! Hope you had a lovely brunch at your friend’s house!

Leave a comment