Chocolate Shortbread and All Butter Shortbread

Shortbread is one of my absolutely favourites when it comes to biscuits. I have been looking for a good recipe for over a year now. Whilst I was searching through some old boxes at home I came across a photocopy of a recipe that my Scottish sister-in-law gave me many years ago. Could this be what I have been searching for all this time? Well, let me tell you! The Chocolate Shortbread and All Butter Shortbread turned out to be absolutely PERFECT and mouth-watering!!! 😀

Chocolate Shortbread and All Butter Shortbread

Recipe (makes about 40) 

  • 300 g unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 200 g caster sugar
  • 360 g plain flour
  • 110 g Gluten Free rice flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • 100 g Chocolate Chips
  • caster sugar for sprinkling

Preheat the oven to 170 degrees C.

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

Sift over the flours, baking powder and salt and mix well. The longer you mix it, the better mixture you get.

Split the dough evenly and add the chocolate chips to one of the doughs. Again, mix it well.

When you roll out the dough, make them approx. 1 cm thick. With help of cookie cutters cut out square biscuits and round ones.

Put the biscuits on a parchment paper on a baking sheet and bake towards the bottom of the oven for about 20-25 minutes until golden.

Sprinkle caster sugar on the All Butter Shortbread, but not on the Chocolate ones.

Leave them to cool.

You can store the biscuits in an airtight container.

Happy Shortbread Baking Everyone! 😀