British Flapjacks

Inspired by last week’s British classic All Butter Shortbreads I decided to tackle another favourite in the form of chewy, gooey and extremely tasty British Flapjacks!! 😀

Flapjacks

Recipe (makes 5-6 pieces) 

  • 55 g unsalted butter 
  • 1 rounded tablespoon golden syrup
  • 80 g dark brown sugar
  • 100 g quick-cooking porridge oats
  • a pinch of salt

Grease and line an oval small pie plate.

Place the butter, golden syrup and sugar in a saucepan over a low heat. Cook, stirring, until melted and combined.

Remove from the heat and add the oats and salt. Stir to blend.

Spoon into the prepared pie plate and smooth the surface. Place in the centre of the oven and bake at 180 degrees C for around 25 minutes, or until the Flapjack has browned.

Once you taken the Flapjack out, you should cut it before it cools completely because it will harden.

Happy British Flapjacks Baking Everyone! 😀

Advertisements

Fresh Fruit Salad with Vanilla Whipped Cream

Anyone up for some Fresh Fruit Salad with Vanilla Whipped Cream? Very simple to make and oh so yummy to fill your tummy with!! 😀

fruit salad

Recipe (makes 2 portions) 

  • 1 banana
  • 1 kiwi
  • 1 clementine
  • 8 strawberries

monkey

😀

strawberry police

Chop the banana, kiwi, clementine and strawberries into smaller pieces. Put them in a bowl. Mix it all together.

Serve with yummy vanilla whipped cream!

fruit baby

Happy Fruit Salad Making Everyone! 😀

Swedish Meringue Suisse (Marängsuisse) filled with whipped cream, vanilla ice cream, meringues, Belgian chocolate sauce and chopped bananas… mmmm…! Happy Birthday Sugar and Spice Baking 8 months!

Mr. Croco and Mr. Octo are celebrating Sugar and Spice Baking’s 8 month’s Anniversary with a delicious Swedish Meringue Suisse (filled with whipped cream, vanilla ice cream, meringues, Belgian chocolate sauce and chopped bananas…) YUMMY in your tummy! 😀

MERINGUE SUISSE (2)

Recipe (makes 3-4 portions) 

  • 2 dl double cream mixed with 1 tablespoon vanilla sugar 
  • 3 dl Carte d’or vanilla ice cream
  • 2 bananas, chopped
  • 1 dl Belgian chocolate dessert sauce with British double cream
  • 10 plain mini meringues
  • sugar strands to decorate

Marängsuisse

Whip the cream.

Just chuck all the ingredients in a medium sized bowl and mix it all together!

Eat it with pleasure!

😀

happy birthday

Happy Swedish Meringue Suisse Making and Happy Sugar and Spice Baking 8 months! 😀

 

Short blogging break!

Hello everyone! 😀

I will just have a short break from my blogging! Meanwhile, you may check my previous blog posts 😀

  1. Brand New Blog!: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/06/brand-new-blog/
  2. The Hummingbird Bakery’s Chocolate Cupcakes: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/06/the-hummingbird-bakerys-chocolate-cupcakes/
  3. The Hummingbird Bakery’s Spinach and Cheese muffins: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/07/the-hummingbird-bakerys-spinach-and-cheese-muffins/
  4. The Hummingbird Bakery’s Marshmallow Cupcakes: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/07/the-hummingbird-bakerys-marshmallow-cupcakes/
  5. Homemade Swedish Cinnamon Buns: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/07/homemade-swedish-cinnamon-buns/
  6. Cheddar Cheese and Onion muffins:http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/08/cheddar-cheese-and-onion-muffins/
  7. Measurement Conversions:http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/08/measurement-conversions/
  8. Inspiring article…: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/09/inspiring-article/
  9. Miss Cake Poem: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/09/miss-cake-poem/
  10. Fitness: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/10/fitness/
  11. White Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting…: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/10/white-chocolate-cupcakes-with-chocolate-frosting/
  12. Motivate yourself – gym and in life!: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/10/motivate-yourself-gym-and-in-life/
  13. Strawberries with vanilla custard: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/12/strawberries-with-vanilla-custard/
  14. Apfelstrudel: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/14/apfelstrudel/
  15. Dementia and Baking: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/23/dementia-and-baking/
  16. Homemade Vanilla Pudding: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/24/homemade-vanilla-pudding/
  17. Fruit Cocktail Muffins: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/26/fruit-cocktail-muffins/
  18. New Facebook page: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/28/new-facebook-page/
  19. Tomorrow, a new lovely day in the Kitchen!: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/28/tomorrow-a-new-lovely-day-in-the-kitchen/
  20. Homemade Swedish Cinnamon Buns: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/29/homemade-swedish-cinnamon-buns-2/
  21. Swedish “Smörbollar” “Butter balls”: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/29/swedish-smorbollar-butter-balls/
  22. The meaning of baking: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/29/the-meaning-of-baking/
  23. “Let them eat cake” – Marie Antoinette: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/30/let-them-eat-cake-marie-antoinette/
  24. ChefTalk.com: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/31/cheftalk-com/
  25. Swedish Secrets – Blueberry & Strawberry Muffins: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/31/swedish-secrets-blueberry-strawberry-muffins/
  26. Diet – yes or no? My thoughts about diet and weight…: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/07/31/diet-yes-or-no-my-thoughts-about-diet-and-weight/
  27. Swedish yum yum Chocolate balls…so easy to make so even kids can bake them!: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/03/swedish-yum-yum-chocolate-balls-so-easy-to-make-so-even-kids-can-bake-them/
  28. Where did my passion for Baking begin?: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/04/where-did-my-passion-for-baking-begin/
  29. Get yourself a nice, firm and toned bum in one week – Hit or miss?: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/05/get-yourself-a-nice-firm-and-toned-bum-in-one-week-hit-or-miss/
  30. Austrian Apfelstrudel Recipe!: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/05/austrian-apfelstrudel-recipe/
  31. Apple, Vanilla sauce and Cinnamon muffins! Happy Birthday Blog!: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/06/apple-vanilla-sauce-and-cinnamon-muffins-happy-birthday-blog/
  32. Swedish Strawberry Marmalade Bread Cookies: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/06/swedish-strawberry-marmalade-bread-cookies/
  33. Lovebanus and Cocktails!: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/07/lovebanus-and-cocktails/
  34. Cake judge…: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/09/cake-judge/
  35. Swedish Toffee Cookies…: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/09/swedish-toffee-cookies/
  36. Currant cake…: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/10/currant-cake/
  37. New British Baking Week…: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/11/new-british-baking-week/
  38. Swedish Pear and Blueberry Marmalade Bread Cookies…: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/13/swedish-pear-and-blueberry-marmalade-bread-cookies/
  39. Swedish Chocolate Cake…: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/13/swedish-chocolate-cake/
  40. Jane’s Delicious British Lemon Cake: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/14/janes-delicious-british-lemon-cake/
  41. Angry British Animal Chocolate Syrup Cookies…: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/14/angry-british-animal-chocolate-syrup-cookies/
  42. British Banoffee cake (with caramel, chocolate and banana): http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/15/british-banoffee-cake-with-caramel-chocolate-and-banana/
  43. Chocolate Fudge Cake: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/16/chocolate-fudge-cake/
  44. Scones with Nectarine Conserve: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/17/scones-with-nectarine-conserve/
  45. The Spanish Hot Chocolate Muffins: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/18/the-spanish-hot-chocolate-muffins/
  46. Swedish “Fika”: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/19/swedish-fika/
  47. Swedish “Drömmar”…Cookie Dreams!: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/20/swedish-drommar-dreams/
  48. The first cookie…: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/21/the-first-cookie/
  49. “Finska pinnar”… Finnish Sticks Cookies: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/21/finska-pinnar-finnish-sticks-cookies/
  50. Swedish “Chokladsnittar” – Chocolate canapés…: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/22/swedish-chokladsnittar-chocolate-canapes/
  51. Swedish “Wienerstänger” – Wiener canapés: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/23/swedish-wienerstanger-wiener-canapes/
  52. Swedish “Strassburgare”: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/24/swedish-strassburgare/
  53. Swedish Magic Power Cookies: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/25/swedish-magic-power-cookies/
  54. Swedish “Havrekakor”… Oat Cookies: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/25/swedish-havrekakor-oat-cookies/
  55. Happiness…: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/25/happiness/
  56. 7 kinds of cookies: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/26/7-kinds-of-cookies/
  57. Liebster award: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/26/liebster-award/
  58. “Collecting” my second Blog Award… One Lovely Blog Award: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/26/collecting-my-second-blog-award-one-lovely-blog-award/
  59. Gooseberry-fool & Diet: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/27/gooseberry-fool-diet/
  60. Baby Currant Crumble Pies: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/27/baby-currant-crumble-pies/
  61. Apple and Cinnamon Pasties: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/30/apple-and-cinnamon-pasties/
  62. The Spanish Nursery Baby Apple Crumble Pies: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/08/31/the-spanish-nursery-baby-apple-crumble-pies/
  63.  Tiger Cake (Chocolate and Vanilla filling): http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/01/tiger-cake-chocolate-and-vanilla-filling/
  64. Animals and Health: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/02/animals-and-health/
  65. Chocolate Swiss roll: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/04/chocolate-swiss-roll/
  66. Mr. Croco’s Secret Ice cream Crumble Muffin Treat…: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/06/mr-crocos-secret-ice-cream-crumble-muffin-treat/
  67. Swedish Chicken Falun sausage Pasties (with Ajvar and onion): http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/07/swedish-chicken-falun-sausage-pasties-with-ajvar-and-onion/
  68. Vegetarian Potatoes Pasties (with Ajvar, onion and Gouda cheese): http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/10/vegetarian-potatoes-pasties-with-ajvar-onion-and-gouda-cheese/
  69. Chocolate Vanilla Crumble Muffins: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/12/chocolate-vanilla-crumble-muffins/
  70. Chicken Cupcakes on a Hen do with Lovebanus: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/15/chicken-cupcakes-on-a-hen-do-with-lovebanus/
  71. Toffee Cupcakes (with homemade Toffee sauce): http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/17/toffee-cupcakes-with-homemade-toffee-sauce/
  72. Big Vanilla Meringues: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/18/big-vanilla-meringues/
  73. Vanilla Hearts & Tiny Men Meringues: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/19/vanilla-hearts-tiny-men-meringues/
  74. Homemade Vanilla Toffee: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/21/homemade-vanilla-toffee/
  75. The two cute TOP BAKERS’ Rainbow & Bear cookies: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/22/the-two-cute-top-bakers-rainbow-bear-cookies/
  76. Baking Poem: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/23/baking-poem/
  77. Funny picture: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/24/funny-picture/
  78. The meringue guy from the beach: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/25/the-meringue-guy-from-the-beach/
  79. ‘FAMILY OF BLOGGERS’ AWARD: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/26/family-of-bloggers-award/
  80. America listen up! A mix between Swedish and American Cinnamon buns: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/27/america-listen-up-a-mix-between-swedish-and-american-cinnamon-buns/
  81. Real men don’t buy girls!: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/29/real-men-dont-buy-girls/
  82. Pineapple Coconut Crumble Pie: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/09/30/pineapple-coconut-crumble-pie/
  83. Not a picture for vegetarians (but still a bit funny…): http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/10/01/not-a-picture-for-vegetarians-but-still-a-bit-funny/
  84. Liebster Blog Award: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/10/01/liebster-blog-award/
  85. I’ve been robbed!: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/10/02/ive-been-robbed/
  86. How real men bake!: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/10/03/how-real-men-bake/
  87. Happy Cinnamon bun Day!: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/10/04/happy-cinnamon-bun-day/
  88. Mr. Croco’s Secret treat – Coconut peaks and Croco poem!: http://sugarandspicebaking.com/2012/10/06/mr-crocos-secret-treat-coconut-peaks-and-croco-poem/

Until we meet again, sharpen your knives and forks for new yummy recipes you can put your teeth into… Nope! You will not literally, put your teeth into the cakes, maybe if you have dentures you may do that!!

Happy Blogging & Baking Everyone! 😀

Mr. Croco’s Secret treat – Coconut peaks and Croco poem!

Mr. Croco is celebrating that his favourite blog has existed in 3 months! He has baked some delicious Coconut peaks to share with you guys and also written a short Croco poem! 😀

😀

A green little man

A green little man loves to sit
under his beautiful coco…
and his name is Mr. Croco.

Nibbling on coconut peaks
which nobody else can beats!

Mr. Croco is a nice little man
but he doesn’t own a green van.

He enjoys to read the blog Sugar and Spice Baking
so he will gets some tips about how you create yummy treats
and what kind of ingredients you need to make delicious sweets.

The green little man…
who doesn’t got a tan
is happy with himself
even if doesn’t own a bookshelf with a sitting elf.

Instead, he’s got a sweet little treat
which he can eat under his beautiful coco
because he’s the handsome man with the name mr. Croco!”

Recipe (makes 16 coconut peaks) 

  • 25 gr butter
  • 1 egg
  • ½ dl caster sugar
  • 3 ½ dl coconut
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees C.

Melt the butter.

In a bowl stir egg, vanilla extract and caster sugar.

Add the coconut and butter and mix it until just incorporated.

Click out peaks on a baking sheet.

Bake in the middle of the oven for about 10 minutes.

You can store the coconut peaks in the fridge or in the freezer.

Happy Croco Baking! 😀

7 kinds of cookies

The Swedish “7 kinds of cookies” week is over… Below, you can see the cookies I baked during the week. You can find the recipes for each cookie in my previous Blog posts. 😀

Swedish “Drömmar”… Cookie Dreams!

“Finska pinnar”… Finnish Sticks Cookies

Swedish “Chokladsnittar” – Chocolate canapés

Swedish “Wienerstänger” – Wiener canapés

Swedish “Strassburgare” 

Swedish Magic Power Cookies

Swedish “Havrekakor”… Oat Cookies

😀

Happy Swedish “Fika” Everyone! 😀

Swedish Magic Power Cookies

My plan was to bake Swedish “Bondkakor“. I followed the recipe as it was provided (never tried this recipe before). However, in the oven something magical happened to them and they turned out to be something else… hahaha. They look a little bit like Swedish “Knäckflarn” and taste very nice… Here is cookie number six… Swedish Magic Power Cookies… 😀

Recipe (makes 20)

  • 1.75 dl plain flour
  • 1 dl caster sugar
  • 100 gr butter
  • ½ teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • ½ tablespoon golden syrup
  • ½ teaspoon water
  • ½ dl chopped sweet almond

Put the flour into a bowl.

Add the caster sugar and butter and whisk until you get a nice and smooth buttery mixture.

Pour the bicarbonate of soda, syrup, water and almond into the mixture.

Continue to whisk until everything is just incorporated.

Roll the dough into one round length. Let it cool in the fridge for about one hour.

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees C.

Cut the roll into 1-2 cm pieces.

Make small balls of every piece and place them onto the parchment paper on a baking sheet.

Flatten the cookies with help of a fork.

Bake them in the middle of the oven, 8 minutes.

When the cookies are still warm. Use a heart shaped cookie cutter to make the Magic Power Cookies.

Leave them to cool.

You can store them in the fridge or in the freezer.

Happy Magic Power Baking! 😀